Applications

Applications allow you to register for client credentials and access API endpoints.

Registering an App

The Marketplace allows clients to self-register their applications when using our Public APIs. By registering an application, you are providing the authorization server with the appropriate information to generate your Client Credentials. Once registration is complete, you can use your client credentials to authenticate requests to our public APIs.

If you don't have an application at the time of registration and would like to test our APIs, you can still register for client credentials. In this situation, we recommend that you create an application with a name you will easily remember and a description such as "An application for testing."

To register an application:

  1. Select the Apps link from the secondary navigation.
  2. From the My Apps page, click the Register button.
  3. From the Register Application page, fill out the form and click Register. For more on individual fields, see Registration Details.
  4. From the Registration Details page, select the print icon to save the details as a PDF. Note: Since this is the only time you will see your Client Secret, we recommend either saving the details as a PDF or saving your Client Secret in a secure place.
  5. Once you have secured your Client Secret, click the Continue button and confirm that your secret is secure.

Updating App Details

To update app details:

  1. Select the Apps link from the secondary navigation.
  2. From the My Apps page, select the edit icon corresponding to the app you would like to update.
  3. From the Update Application page, make all necessary updates to your application and click the Update button.
  4. From the Registration Details page, select the print icon to save the updated app details as a PDF. Note: While the new PDF will contain all recent updates, the client secret will not be visible. Meaning, you will need to reference your original registration PDF if you need your client secret.
  5. Once you have saved your app details, select Return to App List.

Refreshing Client Secret

To refresh your application's client secret:

  1. Select the Apps link from the secondary navigation.
  2. From the My Apps page, select the app you would like to update.
  3. From the Application Details page, click the refresh icon in the client secret details section.
  4. In the Refresh Client Secret modal, type the name of the application and click the Refresh button.
  5. Once your client secret is refreshed, select the print icon to save your new details to a PDF. Note: Since this is the only time you will see your Client Secret, we recommend either saving the details as a PDF or saving your Client Secret in a secure place.
  6. Once you have secured your Client Secret, click the Continue button and confirm that your secret is secure.
Refreshing your client secret will prevent your applications from making successful requests until you update your client credentials in your application. If you need to change your secret for a live application and want to avoid downtime, we recommend registering a new app instead, so that you can seamlessly replace the old credentials with the new ones.

Deleting an App

To delete an application:

  1. Select the Apps link from the secondary navigation.
  2. From the My Apps page, select the trash can icon corresponding to the app you would like to delete.
  3. In the Delete Application modal, type the name of the app you would like to delete and click the Delete button.
When deleting an application, the associated credentials can no longer access our APIs. Once you delete your application, there is no way to recover the app.

Sharing an App

Once you register an application, you can share the app with others using Organizations and Teams. Sharing applications with others in your organization or team allows multiple users to access and update the application's details.

The following roles can be applied when sharing an application:

Role Description
Viewer Can view all data associated with the application.
Reviewer Can view and approve all data associated with the application.
Editor Can view and edit all data associated with the application.
Maintainer Can view, edit, delete, and change permissions of all data associated with the application.

The following actions can be taken on a shared application for each role:

Viewer Reviewer Editor Maintainer
View app details
Edit app details
Refresh client secret
Delete app

To share an application:

  1. Select the Apps link from the secondary navigation.
  2. From the My Apps page, click the share icon from the actions section of the app you would like to share.
  3. In the Share Application modal, select whether you would like to share your app with an entire organization or individual teams. Once you have made a selection, choose the organization/team you would like to share with and assign a role. Note: Roles are applied to all members of the org/team. Meaning if you give a team maintainer access, all members of that team will be a maintainer of the application. See the tables above to determine what permissions to use when sharing your application.
  4. Once you are finished assigning roles, click the Share button.

Changing Permissions of a Shared App

To change permissions of a shared app:

  1. Select the Apps link from the secondary navigation.
  2. From the My Apps page, select the app you would like to update.
  3. From the Application Details page, select the View Permissions tab.
  4. From the View Permissions page, use the dropdown corresponding to the organization or team to change the role.

Stop Sharing an App

To stop sharing an app:

  1. Select the Apps link from the secondary navigation.
  2. From the My Apps page, select the app you would like to update.
  3. From the Application Details page, select the View Permissions tab.
  4. From the View Permissions page, select the Stop Sharing link corresponding to the organization or team you would like to stop sharing with.
  5. In the Stop Sharing App modal, confirm you have selected the correct Organization or Team and click the Stop Sharing button.
Keep in mind that while your application is shared, members of permitted organizations or teams are able to view and save the app details. If you share the application by mistake or do not want others to have the app details, you should delete it and register a new one. If your application is live, register for new credentials, and replace the existing ones in your application.